EUGENDERING Prize for Best Graduate Student Research Paper

Prize for Best Graduate Student Research Paper

The EUGENDERING Chair awards every year one Prize for the best research paper on gender and the EU written by a graduate student participating to the teaching programme.

2022-2023 Winner 

Le prix a été remis à l’occasion de la cérémonie de rentrée académique de l’Institut d’études européennes de l’UCLouvain Saint-Louis Bruxelles le 21 novembre 2023.

Le mémoire de Juliette Biesmans peut être consulté ici.

Award and visibility

Students authoring the best paper each year will receive €500.

To enhance the visibility of these research papers and of the young researchers who produce them, the winning research papers will be published on the Chair’s website as an online series. As a bonus, students will be able to mention the prize on their CVs, demonstrating academic excellence. 


Every year, a prize will be awarded to the best research paper by one graduate student enrolled in one of the Institute for European Studies master’s programmes or in the interuniversity master’s programme on gender studies.  

To be awarded, research papers have to focus on the themes related to the EUGENDERING Chair in order to foster students’ analytical interest for the current challenges related to gender+ equality and the EU.  

Research papers co-authored with faculty are not eligible. Only student-authored papers are eligible. Research papers may be co-authored by more than one student. 

Each paper must be and original analysis and must be the author(s)’ own work. Papers previously published are not eligible. 

Nomination and selection 

Nomination for the prize is made by the academics teaching within the concerned MA programmes. 

The nomination must be accompanied by a short support letter highlighting the major achievements and the research paper, together with the paper itself in an electronic format. 

Responsibility for the selection of the recipients rests with the EUGENDERING Board which in this matter acts as the award selection committee. 

Submissions should be sent to and (in cc).